Toyota GAZOO Racing World Rally Team Secures Title in Australia


Amman, November 2018 - The Toyota GAZOO Racing World Rally Team has claimed the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) manufacturers’ title at the final round in Australia, landing a victory for Jari-Matti Latvala. Finishing in fourth place, Esapekka Lappi helped Toyota clinch the manufacturers’ crown in the second season of its return to the WRC. This is Toyota’s fourth manufacturers’ title win in the WRC and the first since 1999.

The strong performance of the Toyota Yaris WRC was demonstrated during the final round, with Ott Tänak and Latvala moving to the top of the leaderboard. Latvala, accompanied by co-driver Miikka Anttila, took three stage triumphs on the last day to obtain victory by 32.5 seconds, scoring the team’s fifth win of 2018. Tänak, Latvala and Lappi concluded the season in third, fourth and fifth place respectively in the driver’s standings, with all three contributing significantly towards the manufacturers’ title.

“Congratulations to Jari-Matti and Miikka for this accomplishment. I am very glad to see them on the top of the podium at the end of the year, attaining the manufacturers’ title despite a tricky season. As Team Chairman, I am proud of all the members who drove the Yaris towards victory and were able to get such a great result in our second-year return to the WRC after 18 years of absence. I would also like to share this achievement with our fans and partners, who stood by us as one team, and thank them for their unwavering support,” commented Akio Toyoda, President of Toyota Motor Corporation and Team Chairman.